HyperLink HyperLink

Featured Report



Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football Abbreviation CONCACAF Formation 18 September 1961; 53 years ago (1961-09-18) Type Sports organization Headquarters Miami, Florida, U.S. Membership 41 member associations Enrique Sanz President Jeffrey Webb Parent organization FIFA Website www.concacaf.com The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football commonly known as CONCACAF, is the continental governing body for association football in North America, Central America and the Caribbean. Three South American entities, the independent nations of Guyana and Suriname and the French department of French Guiana, are also members.CONCACAF was founded in its current form on 18 September 1961 in Mexico City, Mexico, with the merger of the NAFC and the CCCF, which made it one of the then five, now six continental confederations affiliated with FIFA. Its primary administrative functions are to organize competitions for national teams and clubs, and to conduct World Cup qualifying tournaments.CONCACAF is the third-most successful FIFA confederation of the six despite being the third smallest one in terms of member nations. Mexico dominated CONCACAF men's competition early on, however since 2000 the USA has achieved the most success. The U.S. is the only country outside of Europe and South America to receive a medal in the World Cup, finishing third in 1930. They also reached the 2002 World Cup quarterfinals and the 2009 Confederations Cup final. Mexico has finished sixth in both the 1970 and 1986 World Cups and won the 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup. Both nations have won all but one of the editions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup. In recent years Costa Rica has become a power in the region and in 2014 became the 4th CONCACAF country to make the World Cup quarterfinals. United States has been very successful in the women's game, being the only CONCACAF member to win any of the three major worldwide competitions in women's football—the World Cup (2), the Olympics (4), and the Algarve Cup (9). ^ Spanish: Confederación de Fútbol de Norte, Centroamérica y el Caribe, pronounced: ; French: Confédération de football d'Amérique du Nord, d'Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes, pronounced: ; Portuguese: Confederação de Futebol da América do Norte, Central e Caribe. Dutch uses the English name. ^ (/'k?n.k?kæf/ KON-k?-kaf) ^ Concacaf Main | CONCACAF Home | About Us | National Associations. Concacaf.com. Retrieved on 2011-10-14.
Created By: System
Join To Create/Save Reports
Forgot Password

Related Reports